J is for…

I’ve taken on the challenge of an A-Z during April – one post each day on a chosen theme. My theme? Books and writing, of course…

J is for Jo…

As if J could be for anything else?

I interviewed myself a little while back and talked about my writing and why I’m Indie. You’ll find that post here. As for more about me?

Where were you born?

I was born in southwestern Sydney in a fibro house that had 2 dogs and a cat out the back, and a holden in the driveway. My Dad is a country boy who worked in the same bank for nearly 40 years, and my Mum was born and raised in Sydney and stayed at home to raise us kids.

So you’re a Sydney girl?

Not really.

We moved out of Sydney to country NSW when I was 8, and moved back to Sydney for my final year of school. In between we lived in Merriwa (in the Hunter Valley), Bombala (near the Victorian border), and Springwood (in the Blue Mountains). I have a scar on my leg from a cow horn (that ruined my favourite pair of jeans), and a broken bone in my back from a horse fall. I learnt how to ride a horse, milk a cow, drench a sheep (amongst other things) and know the difference between a Murray Grey and an Angus. I also know that Charolais isn’t something you drink.

I moved to Canberra when I finished Uni and met my husband to be down there. We moved back to Sydney (for work) in 1992 and then headed up here to the Sunny Coast (for lifestyle) in March 2017.

Any siblings?

Yep. I’m the eldest of four kids (three girls and a boy). I’m the responsible one.

What did you want to be when you grew up?

I wanted to be a romance novelist. Then I wanted to be a journalist. Then I wanted to be a radio announcer. Then I wanted to write airport blockbusters. Then I wanted to be a journalist.

What was your first job?

Shredding files at a major law firm. I blew the entirety of my first pay packet on a dual cassette player.

What was your first real job?

I joined Westpac as an Economics graduate back in 1988. Go on, ask me about the J curve…

Sydney or Melbourne?


Favourite Country to visit?

The next one.

If I can only choose one, it would probably be New Zealand.

Last holiday?

Vietnam – in April 2017.

Coffee or tea?

Wine. That doesn’t count? Ok, English Breakfast tea. I’m fussy about my tea though.

Favourite cuisine?

Asian street food. Especially Pho and Hainanese Chicken Rice.

Something other people don’t know?

I was a rugby league referee – one of the first female referees…and the first one actively doing games. I was 18 and about half the weight I am now.


Seriously, how hard can it be?

One word to describe you?





4 Replies to “J is for…”

Comments are closed.